Faculty Guide to Information Literacy – Core: Preview Health Sciences Modules
- Why Information Literacy?
- What It Can Do for You
- How to embed Information Literacy–Core Multimedia in a class
- Preview Information Literacy–Core
- Infomation Literacy – Core and the ACRL Framework
- Preview Health Sciences Modules
- Health Science and the Information Literacy Competency Standards for Nursing
- Faculty Extras
About Health Science Modules
Credo's Health Science offers health science-specific instructional content to help students build foundational skills. The growing suite of online videos, tutorials, and assessments provides librarians and faculty with the tools needed to teach and assess foundational information literacy skills. The ready-made instructional materials free undergraduate and graduate-level class time for more active practice and high-impact learning.
Evidence-Based Practice
-
Note About Evidence-Based Practice Section A recommendation on the order in which to use the InfoLit - Health Science materials.
-
Introduction to Evidence-Based Practice This tutorial, including checkpoints and a mini-video, provides an overview of the concept of evidence-based practice and its significance to the study and practice of clinical care. Concepts introduced include the evidence-based practice triangle and the cycle of 5 A’s.
-
Identifying Types of Evidence This tutorial, including checkpoints, introduces students to the types of evidence they will encounter during the Acquire stage of evidence-based practice. Types of evidence include systematic reviews, randomized controlled trials, cohort studies, case-controlled studies, background information, and expert opinion.
-
Understanding Study Design This tutorial, including checkpoints and a mini-video, builds on students’ understanding of the types of evidence they will encounter when acquiring evidence. The tutorial walks students through the purpose and characteristics of randomized trials, observational cohort studies, studies of diagnostic test properties, studies of prognosis, and studies of differential diagnosis. A study example and study benefits and limitations are provided for each study design.
-
Using the Hierarchy of Evidence This tutorial, including checkpoints and a mini-video, builds on students’ understanding of types of evidence and study design. The tutorial introduces students to the hierarchy of evidence that they may use to assess the quality of studies located during the Acquire stage of evidence-based practice.
-
Applying Research to a Patient Population This tutorial will introduce students to the process of supporting decisions about patient care using evidence. Students will be able to discuss the importance of patient values in evidence-based practice and other key factors that influence if and how evidence is applied in clinical settings.
-
Appraising Evidence: Diagnostic Studies This tutorial is an introduction to the elements associated with the APPRAISE stage of evidence-based practice. Students will become familiar with elements related to diagnostic studies such as relative and absolute risk and be prepared to discuss application of clinical diagnostic measurements further with instructors.
-
Appraising Evidence: Treatment Studies In this tutorial, students will learn how to appraise the validity of studies related to treatment using the FRISBE acronym. Students will be able to define the FRISBE elements required to appraise study results plus concepts such as relative risk, absolute difference, absolute risk, absolute risk reduction, and number needed to treat.
-
Evidence-Based Practice Quiz A quiz assessing student's ability to access, select, and evaluate the most appropriate evidence that will help them answer their clinical question.
Understanding and Using Research Sources
-
Lifecycle of Medical Information Students will learn about the purpose and phases of the lifecycle of medical information. By reviewing the stages of research proposal and planning, data collection, analysis, publication, and application, students will be able to better evaluate the purpose, methodology, and credibility of the sources that support their own research and assignments.
-
Bias in Research In this turorial, students will be introduced to the types of bias that may occur before, during, and after a study. In addition, students will become familiar with the strategies investigators may use to minimize bias in study design, execution, and analysis.
-
Health Misinformation In this tutorial, students will learn what misinformation is and how it impacts health considerations. In addition, students will learn how to identify misinformation as well as how to locate other credible materials to reevaluate potentially misleading sources.
-
Health Informatics In this tutorial, with included video, students will learn about what health informatics is and its significance across health sciences research and healthcare. The tutorial and video touch on many of the most pertinent aspects of health informatics that will be relevant to their practice, such as electronic health records, health information exchange, public health surveillance systems, and applications of artificial intelligence. The tutorial explores both the potential and the challenges of these aspects of health informatics.
-
Peer Review in the Health Sciences Using this tutorial, students will be able to discuss the purpose, value, benefits, and limitations of the peer review process in order to select the appropriate evidence, evaluate their findings, and support evidence-based decisions.
-
Reading a Scholarly Article A tutorial, including checkpoints and a mini-video, provides an overview of the elements to look for in a scholarly article, including relevance, reliability, and quality. The tutorial guides a student through how to look for and identify these elements in the various components components commonly found in a scholarly article, from title and abstract through methodology, data, and conclusions.
-
Research Retrieval and Organization Students will learn how to apply retrieval tips to their health science research. Tips and strategies included in this tutorial are related to accessing information using databases and managing source information and citations throughout the research process.
-
Annotated Bibliographies and Literature Reviews In this tutorial, students will be introduced to the basic structures that annotated bibliographies and literature reviews can take, tips for literature searches, and guidance for writing effective annotated bibliographies and literature reviews.
-
APA Citations 7th Edition Use this tutorial to provide students with an introduction to the APA citation style format and examples of popular source types such as books, journals, and websites. The tutorial includes several “check your understanding” questions with drag and drop exercises where students can format citations of different source types properly.
-
Quiz: Understanding and Using Research Sources A quiz assessing student's knowledge of health science resources including their ability to identify the essential elements of a scholarly article.
Research Needs and Search Strategies
-
Video: Introduction to Medical Databases Full-length video that teaches students to identify the features and characteristics of medical databases in order to select the most appropriate database for their research needs
-
Search Strategy for Health Information Tutorial with checkpoints that provides an introductory overview of strategies and techniques for locating reliable, accurate, and current health information as a student and practitioner.
-
PICO Questions Part 1: Writing a PICO Question Tutorial that includes multiple checkpoints, walking students through the components of a PICO question and how to write their own.
-
PICO Questions Part 2: Going From PICO Question to Search Tutorial including a mini-video and multiple checkpoints giving students the opportunity to practice transitioning from a PICO question they deveop to focused, relevant searches for information.
-
Tutorial: Scientific Method for Health Science Students In this tutorial, students will become familiar with the purpose and stages of the scientific method in order to recognize its application in health science research. Students will be able to discuss the realities of scientific research in order to demonstrate their knowledge of the process of discovery, experimentation, and revision.
-
Health Literacy In this tutorial, students will be introduced to the needs and challenges patients may have related to health literacy. Students will also become familiar with the role that health care practitioners may play in enhancing patient health literacy.
-
Quiz: Research Needs and Search Strategies (15 Questions) A quiz asssessing student's ability to formulate a PICO question and use it to locate the most relevant evidence.
Artificial Intelligence
-
Tutorial: Student Guide to AI A student guide including information on how generative AI works, the issues surrounding it, how to write prompts, and how to cite Gen AI
-
Quiz: Student Guide to AI A quiz that examines students on their knowledge of how Gen AI works and the academic integrity issues involved with its use.
-
Tutorial: Faculty Guide to AI What generative AI is, how it works, the issues involved, and how to use it in academic work if permitted. Though this covers the same topics as the student guide to AI, it is more detailed and offers information for faculty on teaching AI concepts.
Glossary of Health Science Terms
-
Health Sciences Glossary Definitions for the health science terms used throughout Credo InfoLit - Health Science.
Health Science Resources
-
Overview of Health Science Resources This tutorial provides students with an overview of some of the most common and useful source types that they will encounter during their academic careers, many of which they will also utilize as practitioners. The tutorial describes the purpose and use cases for different source types, including textbooks, journals, databases, government resources, patient and consumer health information, and more.
-
CINAHL Tutorial with checkpoints that provides students with an overview of the purpose and scope of CINAHL and how to best determine if, and how, the database can meet their information needs using appropriate search strategies.
-
Complementary and Alternative Medicine Using the tips in this tutorial, students will be able to define complementary and alternative health in order to discuss the role non-conventional practices play in patient care. Students will also be able to evaluate sources of complementary and alternative health information in order to identify the most credible, evidence-based information.
-
Consumer Health Information Using the tips in this tutorial, students will be able to identify the purpose and characteristics of consumer health information in order to locate and evaluate online sources that can be used to meet patients’ information needs.
-
Health Statistics Part 1: Introduction to Using Health Data and Statistics Using the tips in this tutorial, students will be able to define and locate health science data and statistics. Additionally, students will learn how to evaluate health statistics for accuracy and reliability.
-
Health Statistics Part 2: Resources for Health Statistics This tutorial will build upon students' knowledge of health science data and statistics by providing an overview of specific online resources. Students will learn how to select the most appropriate sources to meet their information needs.
-
Tutorial: Locating Drug Information Part 1: Consumer Resources Students will be introduced to strategies for identifying and describing consumer health sites related to drug information in order to provide patients with the most appropriate resources.
-
Locating Drug Information Part 2: Clinical Resources This tutorial builds upon students' familiarity with drug information sources. Students will be able to identify the purpose and application of government and professional drug information resources in order to meet their clinical needs.
-
Video and Tutorial: Nutrition Resources This tutorial will walk students through the process of locating reliable nutrition information from scholarly, professional, government, and consumer sources. Using the tips in this tutorial, students will be able to evaluate nutrition information for authority, reliability, and currency on their own.
-
Mental and Behavioral Health Information Resources This tutorial walks students through the process of locating reliable information about mental and behavioral health from scholarly, professional, government, and consumer sources. Students will be introduced to major sources offering reliable information about mental and behavioral health and learn how to evaluate the authority, purpose, and relevance of mental and behavioral health sources to their information need.
-
Point-of-Care Resources Part 1: Introduction to Using Point-of-Care Resources A tutorial that includes multiple checkpoints, walking students through the components of a PICO question, and how to write their own question.
-
Point-of-Care Resources Part 2: DynaMed, UpToDate, and Nursing Reference Center A tutorial that includes a mini-video and multiple checkpoints allowing students to practice transitioning from a PICO question they develop to focused searches for relevant information.
-
Gray Literature Students will be able to identify the characteristics of gray literature in order to integrate sources into their evidence-based practice.
-
PubMed Tips & Tricks Tutorial that includes multiple checkpoints and screencast video of using the PubMed database. This tutorial provides students with an overview of the purpose and scope of PubMed, with strategies for determining if and how to use and search the database to meet their information needs.
-
Quiz: Health Science Resources A quiz assessing student's knowledge of health science databases.
- Last Updated: Jun 26, 2025 4:24 PM
- URL: https://library.clarksoncollege.edu/facultyguide
- Print Page